top of page

Buttermilk Pie

So let's talk pies. Thanksgiving pies to be exact. I have this weird thing where I do not like fruit pies. I will eat them now occasionally, BUT when I was a kid they were an absolute no go. One year my uncle made a buttermilk pie and I was hooked. We've made it every year since then. So, since it's my favorite, I thought I'd share this recipe with you including the changes I've made over the years!

The main change I made was in the "baking mix" otherwise known as bisquick. My hubby has some strange allergies and bisquick is one of them. Hives ALL over if he eats something with bisquick in it. Like why??? Who is allergic to bisquick??? I was NOT about to let that prevent me from making my favorite Thanksgiving dessert so to google I went to find out what made a "baking mix" and how I could substitute it. In my recipe, I will highlight the ingredients in my mix. You can make it if you want, or you can just go buy a box of bisquick.

1.5 c white sugar

1 c buttermilk

1/3 c butter; melted

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 eggs

1/2 c of baking mix

Baking mix recipe: Makes a cup (good for two pies, which is good because it lasts a while AND you usually can not buy a small thing of buttermilk so why not make two?? In my case, I'm making one for friends-giving and one for my family Thanksgiving)

1 c all purpose flour

1.5 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 tbsp shortening (or butter)

add everything and use pastry cutter (or fork) to blend it all. Measure out what you need for the recipe!

How to Make:

Heat oven to 350 F grease 9 inch pie plate

Mix all ingredients in a bowl with a whisk until smooth. Pour into pie plate. (to be honest, I put the pie plate on the oven rack and pour it there so I don't have to move it too much!)

Bake for 30 minutes or until knife comes out clean and the top is turning golden brown.

Seriously Y'all. How easy is that? Mix ingredients in a bowl and pour into a pie plate and bake. SO. EASY.

Notes:

1. This does not have a pie crust. It kind of forms a crust on it's own while baking. YOU CAN use a crust with it, but know it will take A LOT longer than the baking time in the recipe (like upwards of 60 minutes). I've made it with both before. I personally like it without the crust, especially if you are having other pies that do.

2. Depending on the oven, it may take longer than 30 minutes. Don't be alarmed or think you did something wrong if it takes 5-10 min longer. The one I made yesterday took 37 minutes total (no crust)!

3. If you deep fry your turkey, try this fun treat!

Make your pie (without the crust).

Take a pie crust and roll it out. Take spoonfuls of your pie and place them on the pie crust and make little pie pockets. (I've made them ravioli style by putting spoonfuls on one pie crust, covering with another crust and cutting them out with a pizza cutter and make sure they are sealed) Drop SAFELY into your fryer and fry until crust is golden brown. It is DELICIOUS!!!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page