top of page

UNBELIEVEABLY EASY CRACKERS


Y'all. I love crackers. Crackers can go with anything. Peanut butter...cheese...hummus...the possibilities are ENDLESS. But can we be real right now? "Artisan" crackers are expensive. Like ridiculously expensive. $4-$5 a box and they don't even have that many in them. I do not have a job right now so I've been looking to make the "snacks" in our house for way cheaper than the boxes. So I set out to find a way to make crackers. What goes in them? How do you actually make them? Is it time consuming? The answers are simple. They are EASY to make, basic crackers are made from things you probably have around the house and they are CHEAP to make. They are also snacks you can make in thirty minutes or less. So here goes my recipe:

1 1/2 c flour

1 tsp sugar

1 tsp salt

2 tbsp oil

1/2 c water

Mix the ingredients in a bowl. I usually start with a spoon then finish with my hands to make sure everything is incorporated. Roll out on a piece of floured parchment paper. Roll it out until the dough is about 1/8 inch thick. use brush to brush water and sprinkle with salt. Use a pizza cutter to cut into cracker shapes. I don't really worry about the exact shape, whatever works works in my mind, they all taste the same. transfer the crackers on the parchment paper to the cookie sheet! Rolling it out on the parchment paper is WONDERFUL because you can just slide the cookie sheet underneath all nice and neat. Bake at 425 for about 12-15 minutes until they are crunchy to your liking. Cool on a cooling rack then transfer to a seal proof container and they will last for about a week.

In my research some recipes called for one to prick the crackers with a fork, but I preferred the crackers that I didn't prick.

The possibilities are endless as far as flavor combinations. You can use whole wheat flour instead of APF if you like. Today I made rosemary and garlic olive oil crackers that make your house smell DELICIOUS. I just used garlic infused olive oil I got from the farmers market instead of regular oil and I mixed in some dried rosemary into the dough. You could do any combination of spices and flavors! Which flavor combo is your favorite? Do you have suggestions of kinds I should try? Would you try making crackers yourself?


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page